A Change Is Gonna Come

Standard

This is a rethinking through poetry of one of my favorite songs, “A Change Is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke.

 

I was born by the river in a modest house

Oh and just like the river I’ve been moving south

It’s been a long, long time coming

But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

 

It’s been too hard living, but I can’t tell at all

‘Cause I know If I look up, I might trip and fall

It’s been a long, long time coming

But I think a change gonna come, oh yes it will

 

I turn on the the TV and see a man on his knees

And I think to myself, “I’m glad that isn’t me”

It’s been a long, long time going

Assuming change gonna come, waiting still

 

Then he  comes to me, the man on TV

Begging, “Brother, help me please”

But I find every way to excuse his plea

Thinking all the while, “What if that was me on my knees?”

 

There have been times that I thought it wouldn’t last for long

But now I think my selfishness is what drug it on

It’s been a long, long time coming

But it’s time for change.

Leave a Reply

